Shuffle The Music Tag

Hello Angels!

I was tagged by the beautiful Mollie from Mollie Says who’ll I’ll link here to do the shuffle the music tag: please go follow and check her out, she’s an incredible blogger and covers so many topics! Thank you for tagging me lovely! Without further hesitation, here are the first fifteen songs that played (there’s a variety, hold on to your weaves)…

IMG_20170819_140921_013

  • Heaven Help Us- My Chemical Romance
    Starting off strong with links to my emo ways (I go into detail in yesterdays blog post which I’ll link here). I’m a massive My Chemical Romance fan, and me and Georgia were actually saying how I’m never going to leave that year 9 emo phase, and I would like to blame this group of men for that. This was a B-Side to the Black Parade album, and it hurts me deeply that it didn’t make it on to the main album, it’s an amazing song and fits in with the concept of the album.

IMG_20170819_140909_824

  • Holocene- Bon Iver
    Bon Iver is one of the most underrated artists, don’t fight me on that. This is the perfect rainy day song for me, it always makes me feel so relaxed and warm inside, and he is a lyrical genius, moving me to tears with what looks like such ease, I admire how well crafted and thought out every song is. With Holocene, his voice is another level, even for him; it can go from soft and gentle to so emotive and hitting high notes I couldn’t dream of.

IMG_20170819_140859_244

  • Strange Love- Halsey
    I spoke about this song in particular in depth in my musical influences post, which I’ll link here, but this gives me another chance to fangirl over her. This is probably one of my favourite Halsey songs; she has such an attitude and is so strong throughout it, despite there being hints about her being vulnerable because she has feelings but has to hide them and feels exposed due to people asking about her relationship. The beat behind it makes me feel as if I could lead people into battle, and despite the beat and the lyrics, her voice is still raspy and a contrast between them. If you’re ever getting ready to go argue, I suggest this to pump you up.

IMG_20170819_140849_823

  • I Go To Sleep- Sia
    This song makes me cry every time. There’s very little I could actually say about it; it’s indescribable. It puts me in my feelings and makes me think about love and the past. This is probably my go to song when I need a cry and when I’m writing if there’s something emotional I’m planning; it makes the feelings pour out of me. People say My Chemical Romance are emo, but have you listened to this? It makes me emo.

IMG_20170819_140840_461

  • You- Keaton Henson
    This is another one mentioned in my musical influences post, and gives me the same vibes as I Go To Sleep. It is an incredibly sad song- a lot of this album is- about losing people and love. This is one of those rare songs I remember the moment I first heard it: it was about 3AM, I was sad, it was raining, and this came on and I was just stunned. It was as if everything went quiet and still and all there was was me and this song. Still now, whenever I hear it, the rest of the world seems to go quiet around me. I actually looked into this song a lot, and I’ll leave you with words from the lyrical genius himself on what it’s about and why the video is what it is:
    index
    If that doesn’t make your heart hurt and want to protect this man from the world, I don’t know what will.

IMG_20170819_140832_721

  • The Gospel Truth (I/II/III)- Hercules Soundtrack
    Fight me if you don’t like this soundtrack and think it’s one of the most underrated. The muses are some of my favourite characters ever (the one who calls Hercules Hunk-ules is me, I relate girl). I think Disney soundtracks are great, and Hercules is one of my favourite Disney films ever, only in recent years though as I’ve been able to appreciate it more, and Megara is an icon. The Gospel Truth makes me feel so strong and so sassy, I love my strong feminist muses with voices more powerful that Zeus himself.

IMG_20170819_140824_505

  • Strange Boy- Kerli
    First off, I’m gonna say just go look at her aesthetic, she’s a Bubble Goth Goddess and I wish I had the guts to wear half the stuff she does. But this song is one I haven’t actually heard in ages, but when I heard the first note, I could already feel myself getting into a motivated, badass frame of mind. The opening line ‘You should never leave me home alone’ in a sweet almost snarl makes me ready for anything no matter what my mood. This is almost on a par with Halsey and Strange Love for me; there’s similar themes and the same thumping kind of beat. I’ve been a Kerli fan since I was about 13, so she’s been with me awhile now.

IMG_20170818_231339_165

  • Never Gonna Give You Up- Rick Astley
    Okay, okay, laugh it up. But you can’t argue with this, the second this comes on, you have a big smile on your face and you’re dancing and laughing along with it, and know every single word. Make fun of him all you want, but this song is iconic and will never die, it’ll still be played in the year 3020 and people will still dance to it.

IMG_20170819_140814_564

  • Stuck in the Middle With You- Stealers Wheel
    MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE! I can’t talk about this song enough, it’s such a happy song and I dance every single time. I’ll go as far to say as it’s one of the most catchy, best songs ever written; every element of it fits and makes sense. Also, I love the ironic use of it is Reservoir Dogs, I was a fan before I saw it, but I do need to mention that the use of it did make me laugh.

IMG_20170819_140805_513

  • Falling For You- Nick Howard
    This came up as a recommended song on YouTube and I thought it was going to be really sad, but it’s actually not. I know looking at this list and the amount of sad/ emotional songs on here that’s going to be a surprise, but it’s not. It’s about people falling in love and the hope that the feelings are returned and realising when you’e in love and the second it all hits you. It is one of my favourite songs, I think it’s stunning, and just a more chill song: it doesn’t make you wanna sob, doesn’t make you wanna dance.

IMG_20170819_140756_020

  • Don’t Fear the Reaper- Blue Oyster Cult
    This song holds an embarrassing memory for me (I sang the chorus on a bus full of old people, that’s the basic outline to it) but it is still a great song, and that guitar line is fucking flawless. It gives it an edge that always makes me feel like I’m being taken away, and the softness of the vocals almost creates a creepy tone to it. This, again, is one of my favourite songs, and this is actually the main type of music I listen to: old man rock. It’s the best type of rock, lets be honest here.

IMG_20170819_140747_522

  • Have You Ever Seen The Rain- Creedence Clearwater Revival
    Another ‘old man’ rock song. But, this is a great song: it’s short and sweet, but people never realise that they actually do know it. I’ve had friends who go ‘I’ve never heard of it’ and they’re singing it a minute later. This may be one of the songs they’re best known for, and while a shame because they’re a great band, but I can understand why, it’s incredibly catchy.

IMG_20170819_140738_905

  • Waste the Night- 5 Seconds of Summer
    A break from the ‘old man’ bands and a moment to appreciate probably one of my favourite bands. This song in particular stands out to me; people skip over it the first listen, but the second listen it may be one of the stand out songs on the album: a song about love and not wasting time not acting on it, it’s a stunning song. Sidenote: now whenever I hear it, I also have the video of Luke Hemmings playing a snippet of it on his own on his Instagram story in my head, and he does have a beautiful voice.
    (The link is to them live, there are no other YouTube videos of the song up, but they look bloody good live, I WANNA GO)

IMG_20170819_140729_546

  • Carry on Wayward Son- Kansas
    I never react calmly to this due to Supernatural. I have Vietnam flashbacks to all the finales that have left me in ruins. BUT before that, I still did love the song: it is one of my favourite workout songs (as well as another ‘old man’ band, I’m representing here). I like the message of the song: carry on through it, you can get through it. This song makes me conflicted; it makes me feel powerful and strong, but I also have flashbacks to some of my faves dying every season.

IMG_20170819_140718_321

  • Kiwi- Harry Styles
    I’m so glad this one came up. I think that this might be one of the best written albums this year, which I never honestly though I’d say. But, Harry Styles is incredibly talented, and this song shows the diversity of stuff he can do: from the emotional Sweet Creature, to the deep Sign of the Times, then this little gem, which shows him going more towards the rock edge that people predicted he may go: lemme tell you, it suits him to a T, and is one of my favourites on the album.

 

That is it: the first 15 songs that came up when my phone came on shuffle. You can see that I do have a variety of tastes, and I’ll let you in on a secret: most of the music on my phone is depressing as hell at times, so I’m glad some of the more upbeat stuff did come on, or I’ll have depressed you all!

I would like to nominate these lovely people:

Here are the Rules, my beautiful ladies:

  • Mention the creator of the tag and link to their blog.
  • Thank the person that nominated you for this tag and link to their blog as well.
  • Shuffle your entire music library (no matter how old songs the songs are) and talk about the FIRST FIFTEEN songs that come up (anything like why they are there, if they signify something, any story, why you like them etc.)
  • Mention the songs as well as the artists.
  • Tag 7 people or more to do this tag and please let them know!

Thank you again to Mollie for tagging me (we all know I love a good tag) and please go check out her blog and the girls I’ve tagged; they’re beautiful human beings and their blogs are flawless.

 

Stay safe and stay happy, Angels! ❤

3 thoughts on “Shuffle The Music Tag

  1. This is such a cool tag! Love this post. Waste the Night is such a good song I love it❤ and Kiwi is probably my favourite on Harry’s album and don’t even get me started on Hercules ahaha best disney soundtrack EVER!!

    Lon x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Shuffle The Music Tag – Make Me Up Inside

Leave a Reply

